It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:21 pm
Change font size
Southern California Mosin Owners The Forum For Mosin Nagant Enthusiasts Worldwide!

Shooting Tech

Shooting Tech = Trigger Finger Placement

Shooting Tech, Stocks, Stands, BiPod etc

Shooting Tech = Trigger Finger Placement

Postby Shepard » Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:14 am

We have talked about a lot of different things. Trigger finger placement for optimal shooting performance is a matter not spoken of yet. We have military trained people -- self taught people -- and Minute Man [Appleseed Project] trained people and people taught by there pappy. The proper placement of your finger on the trigger can mean the difference between a hit and a miss.

The easiest way to explain is to use pictures -- so here goes.

The best picture is number 2 showing the tip of your finger 90 degrees to the trigger. It keeps the applied pressure in a straight line to the line of your firearm. It keeps the shooter from pulling to the side [mine was the right] and a miss. Appleseed trainers call it DRAGGING WOOD and its a no no if accuracy is what your looking for. Bench shooting for me -- using this trigger method has proved to be excellent.
Some people use trigger shoes. If it helps you to achieve a better feel -- go for it. I like to feel as little of the trigger as possible. Once you start your trigger pull -- don't stop till the gun fires. If you stop start your shot process all over again.

One of the things that I see in some custom builds is that the trigger is to far forward that there's no way to get proper finger placement unless you have extra long fingers.
One of the ways to tell if you need to improve your trigger finger pull is --- do you seem to have near misses to the side you shoot with. If your right handed --- most of my near misses are low and to the right. It comes from dragging wood.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.